Thursday, April 16, 2009

Still knowledge manamegent

I Was pleasantly surprise, that despite the critics, KM continues to be a well used term at least in the hiring arena. I searched in and found quite a list of posts , although is funny the way they use it.



Tuesday, April 07, 2009

Upgrading software

I am in the midst of upgrading 3 servers , all in paralell, not an easy task, one is on the extranet, the other is the main server, and the 3rd is the index engine db. We have to be very careful with the ports, as the sofware has to have the same ports as the old installation. It should be ok now, with the plan in hand nothing can go wrong right? I'll review the plan again.


Friday, April 03, 2009

ECM strategy

What are the elements needed for a successful ECM implementation:

1- Team Lead.
2- Support expert.
3- Programmer
4- Content Administrator. (Multiplied by the number of units in the Organization)
5- Business Consultant.

I will explain their roles and give you insights of what happens as I go through the process of teaching this strategy.


Thursday, April 02, 2009

KM And the future

Its been a while since I wrote in my Blog, but I am back, and planning to write a lot more.

The last couple of years I have been working with the US government , basically doing consulting work. I've been doing a lot of upgrades, but lately I've been tasked into learning and installing two new programs, Artesia, and LL Archive. It's been a great opportunity to see how they arquitected them, and get a different view and vocabulary of how they deal with information. Artesia is a media database to store videos and photos, and certainly big to huge files. LL Archive handles more the detail of how do we store the data, the media that we use, so that we are legally compliant. I will continue to write more as I get the dust out of my fingers.


Tuesday, June 12, 2007

KM Losing Popularity?

Bill writes in his blog Eclectic about KM loosing popularity. It is only logical for it to not be so popular, because of the complexities and fuzziness of KM theory around it. Albeit if there is one. The tools might get popular, but still does not mean they are a good solution (especially when the problem is not wee defined).

The danger is on people buying tools again, thinking that by doing so, they bought the solution to KM, which is never the case. I argue and will always, that tools do not give you the solution , it is illogical and it does not make sense. If you want to be successful, you must follow the PSST system, where you define clearly the Problem, Make sure is not just a Simptom, and then think the Solution through and through ON PAPER. Normally this translates into screen views of what you want to see. THEN , and only then, you look at the tools that will help you build YOUR solution.


Wednesday, May 23, 2007

On Wikis

"Wikis are Not Knowledge Management Tools" writes Zoli Erdos, in his blog, I think Wikis helped solve a problem long standing in IT databases, the power to create versions out of table records. Versions I mean, a track record of how the fields on a given table have changed through time. That was not available in the past, where the transaction committed, values changed and that was the end of the story. Wikis provide a very needed functionality, and as of May 2007, they are not part of the KM tools used in my company, so we are still in the process of integrating it .


Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Defining KM

KM is the interaction between human minds, a given culture (Framework), and collaborative technology

Leonardo Mora


Ok, so after a long vacation from my blog, I think I can continue. I got the book out of the way as well, so now I can concentrate. My job changed as well, but I won't give details about it. For now. Only that you get sleepy every once in a while. I've been reviewing some other blogs, and the stories are fun and interesting. I kind of miss the conferences and seminars, but someday I hope I will be there.